The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Challenge Yourself at CYC Fitness

By Corinne Burgermeister

My CYC Spring Break Challenge shirt

My CYC Spring Break Challenge shirt

One thing I have regretted through my college career is not setting aside enough time for myself. So, in my final semester here I decided to make time for what matters to me. One of those things is working out.

Last semester I reviewed the new boutique gym, CYC Fitness for MODA Magazine and instantly fell in love.

CYC offers spin classes set to a party playlist with an atmosphere you won’t forget. The room is dimly lit except for a few small lights shining on the instructor, allowing you to focus completely on your workout, and not on what everyone else is doing.

This semester, my friends Steph, Matt and I decided to sign up for their spring break challenge. From my previous experience, I could barely walk after taking my first class, so I really worried what I’d signed up for.

Each morning, for 12 days straight, we headed to CYC for our 8:30 a.m. class (often sprinting to lecture afterward). Knowing I’d see my two friends there was so motivating, and also made it a lot more fun!Although none of us were planning to be out on the beach for break, we still thought this would be a fun way to start getting back into shape.

Classes at CYC consist of around 10 songs, and unlike a regular spin class, they push you to work your entire body. It is honestly the best workout I’ve ever had. At times, I find myself muttering how much I hate it, but nothing can energize you and make you feel more successful than a completed ride.

An average rider will burn up to 800 calories in one ride — they’re not messing around here! Song songs focus on  “climbing a mountain,” while others incorporate hand weights to imagine you’re rowing a boat with the 49 other classes members.

By the end of the 12 days challenge, I had increased my weights from 1 lb to 2 lb, and felt physically stronger. My legs looked more toned and I could up the resistance instead of getting tired.

An average rider burns 800 calories per class

An average rider burns 800 calories per class

One thing my friends and I also enjoy about CYC Fitness is their social media presence. CYC is extremely active on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Spotify. You can check in with other riders (or CYCos as I call them) and almost always receive feedback from the cyc account. They held a challenge, offering three free rides to whomever had the best tweet using the #CYCSBChallenge tag. Although none of us were the winner, we still had a fun time working out each morning.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2013 by in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , .
