The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Run a 5K

Celebrating at the Terrace

Celebrating at the Terrace

After a less than ideal summer of training, I completed my very first 5k last Saturday! The Madison Mini Marathon and 5K races started and ended at Memorial Union and led runners around campus, with a good portion of it being along the Lakeshore Path.

I was surprised by how many people there were! I was number 4079. Before the race PJ and I found a spot to stretch out near the starting line. I was feeling anxious – I didn’t get a good night’s sleep and I was a little nervous that I’d wimp out and need to walk or that it would take me forever.

But when I heard Jump Around and Crazy Train blaring over the loudspeakers, I was reminded of Camp Randall Game Day and was instantly ready to get going.

The first mile was pretty easy, but seemed like it took forever! Mile two was the hardest for me. It was uphill for part of the way and I was getting tired. Throughout mile three, I was tired,  but I reminded myself how close the finish line was, which made it easier to keep going.

Bucky and the Klement’s Racing Sausages were there to congratulate runners at the finish line. I finished the race in just over 32 minutes, which I think is pretty good for not being a distance runner. Afterward we headed to the Terrace for our free beer — a little early at 8 a.m. and then went to refuel with brunch at the Edgewater. I had a lot of fun and felt really proud of myself! I’m looking forward to running more races this fall, including the Color Me Rad run in October.

-Corinne Burgermeister

One comment on “Run a 5K

  1. Sue Bodum
    September 6, 2012

    Good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

