The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Food Cart Friday: Dandelion

Dandelion Food Cart

Dandelion Food Cart

After receiving tons of recommendations from friends, I decided to try Dandelion food cart this week. Dandelion specializes in vegan and vegetarian food and was recently featured at Mad City Vegan Fest.

I decided  to try something small since I’m not very familiar with vegan food and wasn’t sure what I’d like. The Badiraguato Tostada was very good, and pretty filling for only $3.75.

Dandelion's Badiraguato Tostada

Dandelion’s Badiraguato Tostada

Instead of beans or meat, the dish centered on a peanut-flavored tempeh, served with coleslaw and tomatillo avocado sauce.

The nutty flavor hit me kind of strongly but was balanced out perfectly with a somewhat tangy coleslaw and delicious avocado sauce.

At the time I had no idea what I was eating, but I knew it tasted amazing. Part of me didn’t want to know, in case tempeh turned out to be something disgusting. But I later learned that it’s a popular soy product, similar to a veggie burger.

There are a few other items on the menu that sounded good, like their chickpea spread wrap and the Colorado seitan fajitas (which I saw two people order).

When I’m feeling more daring, I plan to go back to try El Matador, a sandwich served on a hoagie with tofu and veggies. I liked Dandelion because the food is healthy without being overwhelming. There is a big misconception that vegan and vegetarian foods are not as tasty as the real thing, but I’d argue that at Dandelion my meal was even better.

Food Cart: Dandelion

Location: Library Mall

Meal: $5.75 Badiraguato Tostada ($3.75) and Sanpelligrino Liminada ($2)

-Corinne Burgermeister

Previous Food Cart Friday Posts: Banzo, Caracas EmpanadasSurco,

Leave a Reply

