The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Shop at Maxwell Street Days

Maxwell Street Days

Maxwell Street Days

I don’t get to go shopping often, but when stores throw beautiful clothing onto the sidewalks that scream “I’m practically free, buy me!” I can’t resist. Last year, I stumbled upon the wonderful shopping experience that is Maxwell Street Days while walking around campus. This year, I was prepared.

The mid-summer sale named after the Chicago’s famed outdoor market has been a Madison tradition for 33 years. In 1975, Martin’s clothing and tailor shop held a summer patio sale, initiating this annual event.

My friends and I got an early start Thursday morning at Urban Outfitters. Although Maxwell Street Days officially runs Friday- Sunday, there were so many items already out. I bought a couple great shirts ranging from $2-$10 and a fabulous dress ($15) that I plan on wearing to a few weddings in fall. I ended up getting tons of clothing for $60 – the amount of one regularly priced item. Success!

Cats

Some Cats at Art Gecko

Friday morning nearly every stored cleaned out their inventory and put it outside for shoppers to go through. There were also some specials on food and some DJs along the street.

I went to the bookstore and was pleased to see that ALL clothing was only $5 each. So I grabbed a Rose Bowl sweatshirt for myself, and some for my siblings too (surprise! If you are reading this). I absolutely love Maxwell Street Days because it gives me a chance to get a little crazy and not feel too guilty about it.

And then I went back a third time to see all of the stores I hadn’t checked out yet. Not only do shoppers find amazing deals, but they also see products from stores they may have never entered.

You must take advantage of these bargain prices before the weekend is over! Act now. Although the piles may be a little picked over by Sunday night, I have a hunch some prices might drop even lower.

Happy shopping 🙂

-Corinne Burgermeister

One comment on “Shop at Maxwell Street Days

  1. Pingback: This Week in Madison: Restaurant Week « The Buckyet List

Leave a Reply

