The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Experience Rhythm and Booms

Sunset at the Terrace

Sunset at the Terrace

You have to.

One of my favorite things about summer and festival season is watching fireworks. Usually I go to the Lakefront in Milwaukee for the big US Bank firework show, but this year I will be in Madison for the 4th of July.

I was disappointed when I learned Madison’s big firework show was held the Saturday before the 4th, but Rhythm and Booms lived up to my expectations. What is Rhythm and Booms? It’s fireworks choreographed to a music, broadcast over the radio. The event has been a Madison tradition since 1993. And it’s cool.

Since my friends and I were not up for camping out all day at Warner Park (where the fireworks are shot off), we decided to watch from the next best place: the Terrace. Apparently so did the majority of Madison, as I have never seen the Union so crowded before.

the Terrace

Madison flocks to the Terrace

After making a few laps around the Terrace, searching for any open seats, I began to think arriving two hours early was no where near enough time. Luckily, we grabbed a table from a group who happened to be leaving.

After a few hours of conversation, pitchers and popcorn the show was on! We had a great view of the fireworks from across the lake. I was initially shocked at how perfectly the music matched the fireworks. It was so awesome! My favorite parts were the National Anthem, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” and “I Will Always Love You” to heart-shaped fireworks during the Whitney Houston montage.

Rhythm and Booms fireworks

The Booms!

Rhythm and Booms was a great time, and I’m sure is even more fun if you participate in the all-day festivities at Warner Park. Although the fact that you can listen to the “rhythm” from anywhere in Madison is cool too. This is a definite must-do if you spend a summer in Madison.

-Corinne Burgermeister

friends at the Terrace

Leave a Reply

