The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Food Cart Friday: Surco

Food Cart Friday is something new to the Buckyet List. Each week, we plan to feature a new downtown Madison food cart until we’ve tried them all. Sometimes I wonder why I waste my time eating at chain restaurants when Madison has so many great dining options. Today I overheard customers say Madison is the only place where they’ve seen such variety in food carts. Most cities offer the basics like sandwiches or hot dogs, but during the lunch hours in Madison, nearly every kind of food imaginable is available, and for a pretty good price too!

Surco food cart

Surco

This week I decided to try Surco, a Peruvian cart. I’ve never had anything that resembles what their menu offers, but everything sounded so good, I had to try it! I decided on the Aji de Gallina, or chili chicken, which is made up of shredded chicken in a creamy golden sauce, a side of rice, some vegetables and half of a hard boiled egg.

I was a little worried the chicken might be too spicy, but it wasn’t at all. It was actually a little cheesy and had some potatoes hiding among it, which was a nice surprise. I decided to go all out and tried the Inca Golden Kola, which tasted exactly like cream soda.

I’m usually a little hesitant when trying something new, but overall this meal was great. Although it was a little too heavy to eat in 80 degree weather. I can see myself getting this meal again as the weather cools down, but I’d also like to try their Chicken Adobo and Tacu Tacu.

Surco's Aji de Gallina

Surco’s Aji de Gallina

Food Cart: Surco

Location: Library Mall

Meal: Aji de Gallina

Price: $7 (and soda $1)

Let us know if you have any favorite food carts that should be featured on the Buckyet List! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

-Corinne Burgermeister

6 comments on “Food Cart Friday: Surco

  1. Kyle
    June 22, 2012

    If you dug Surco in cart form, it’ll be a proper restaurant soon over on the east side, on Cottage Grove Rd.

  2. uwbuckyetblog
    June 22, 2012

    Awesome!

  3. Janice
    June 22, 2012

    I LOVE Inca Kola! Thanks for this blog…keep writing because I’ll definitely be using it when I start my first year of grad school! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Food Cart Friday: Banzo « The Buckyet List

  5. Pingback: Food Cart Friday: Dandelion « The Buckyet List

Leave a Reply

