The Buckyet List

Check out, then check off what makes UW great! What's on your bucket list?

Be the President

Promoting Spill

Promoting SPILL at the Student Org Fair

On July 1st, I will have successfully completed my presidential term for SPILL (Supporting Peers in Laid-back Listening). Going into college, I never thought that I would have a leadership role in a student organization at Madison, let alone be president, but I’m so happy that I did!

SPILL is an online support system for UW-Madison students, and it’s completely anonymous which makes it ten times better. Any student can go to badgerspill.com and write about what is getting them down that day, and within 24 hours, they will have five or six responses from other students who have been in similar situations. It’s a great way to help out fellow Badgers!

Being involved on campus is great, and there are so many orgs out there for Badgers to join too! But being able to run a student org for a year is rewarding and it’s an experience that I know will help me in my future. It taught me how to be a leader and how to network with others. I had to learn how to run an organization, so I was leading meetings, finding events for SPILL to be at, brainstorming different ways to advertise and just running the behind-the-scenes aspect of what SPILL is.

SPILL mugs

SPILL mugs

When I first got started with SPILL, I figured I would just be a student supporter and leave it at that, but when the opportunity for executive board positions opened up, I just thought  I would give it a shot. It’s one of the best decisions I made at Wisconsin, so I encourage every Badger to at least be involved in one student org on campus! Check them out on the CFLI website.

-Steph Richter

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .
